Town council candidates kick-start campaigns

Election will be held this fall
By: Martha Garcia, Loomis News Editor
-A +A
The council race is on. It actually started Friday evening, just hours after the deadline for Loomis Town Council candidates to file. When incumbent Rhonda Morillas turned in her candidate’s statement on Aug. 8, she officially joined fellow incumbent Tom Millward and Loomis Open Space and Parks Commission chairman Gary Liss in the race to fill two council seats in the Nov. 4 election. Had any incumbent not turned in a candidate statement by 5 p.m. Aug. 8, the filing period would have been extended for all individuals except the incumbents. Friday evening, Liss, Millward and Morillas were already out rubbing shoulders with the public at the outdoor concert sponsored by the Town of Loomis. The concert was the last in a series of once-a-month free summer outings at Loomis Station Plaza. In addition to musical entertainment, town officials have served free watermelon at the concerts. Town clerk Crickett Strock had more hands helping this time, as all three candidates assisted in slicing and passing around watermelon pieces. Strock, and town treasurer Roger Carroll, will get a “free ride” in November, as they were the only individuals who filed for the elected positions of clerk and treasurer. Because Loomis Fire Protection District board members John R. Shearer and Dennis Gage did not complete the filing process, the filing deadline has been extended to 5 p.m. Friday, Aug. 15, for individuals other than the incumbents. Incumbent Bryan K. Thomson did qualify as a candidate for one of the three seats open on the fire district board. No incumbents filed to fill the two seats on the Penryn Fire Protection District board; that deadline has been extended by one week as well. The deadline is also extended for the one seat on the South Placer Municipal Utility District, Ward 5, as incumbent James Taylor Williams of Loomis did not file a candidate statement. Individuals interested in filing for any of these open seats can contact the Placer County Clerk’s elections division at (530) 886-5650.