Town appoints new planning commissioners

Some new and returning faces dot commission, parks committee
By: Joyia Emard, Loomis News Staff Writer
-A +A
The Loomis Town Council has appointed four new planning commissioners to oversee development. The council, at the Feb. 8 meeting, unanimously approved appointments made by councilmembers Miguel Ucovich, and Sandra Calvert. Gary Liss’ and Walt Scherer’s appointees were approved at the Jan. 11 meeting. Liss chose Susan Flanagan Bordelon as his new commissioner. Bordelon is a network integration manager with AT&T and has served on Loomis’ Green Ribbon task force. She is also a founding member of PlacerSustain. Scherer chose to re-appoint Janet Thew, who is the chairperson of the commission and has served on it for six years. She also served on the Open Space Committee for one year. Ucovich’s appointee is former planning commissioner Mike Hogan. Hogan served on the commission from 2004 to 2008 and was appointed by Tom Millward, former councilman. Hogan served as commission chairman for more than a year. A civil engineer, he founded Civil Engineer Construction in 1995. Calvert chose Patricia Miller, a member of the Parks, Recreation and Open Space Committee, to serve on the planning commission. Miller was a member of the Open Space 2 committee and also organized Earth Day events and a town tree giveaway. Miller has described herself as Liss’ “significant other.” When asked in a later interview if Miller’s appointment constituted a conflict of interest, town attorney Dave Larsen said in an e-mail, “… there is no law prohibiting a council member’s spouse from serving on the planning commission. We typically think of prohibited conflicts of interest as arising from the participation in a decision, which will have a material financial effect on an elected or appointed official. The fact that a planning commissioner is married to a councilmember in and of itself, does not create this type of conflict.” Commissioner Jean Wilson, who is Mayor Rhonda Morillas’ appointee, will retain her seat. The council also appointed three new members to the parks committee. They are retired Del Oro High School teacher Al Newton, retired science teacher Steve Davis, both of Loomis, and community college professor Shawna Martinez, of Penryn. Martinez is the new at-large member. Newton served on the open space commission, runs a nursery business and chaired the English Department at Del Oro. Davis taught in Rocklin and is a board member for the Placer Nature Center. Martinez was a forest service botanist and forest technician and has taught forestry, biology and botany at Sierra College. Other members of the parks committee are Nancy Beck, Jennifer Knisley, Paulette Emert, Kathryn Seers, Tom Seth and Hillary Wallis. Two additional seats are still open on the parks committee. For more information, contact town hall at 652-1840.