Term limits measure passes in Loomis

Calvert, Scherer, Markey elected to town council
By: Martha Garcia, Loomis News Editor
-A +A
Loomis voters have spoken: They are in favor of term limits on the town council. But they’ve also returned one incumbent councilman, throwing the election into a quandary. Tuesday evening with all precincts reporting, Measure A, which asked voters whether members of the Loomis Town Council should be limited to two consecutive, four-year terms, had a lead of 55.38 percent for a total of 1164 votes — to 44.62 percent, or 938 votes. Vying for the three open seats on the council were incumbents Walt Scherer and Miguel Ucovich, along with Sandra Calvert, Vic Markey and Jo-Carol “JC” Arisman. Calvert had a commanding lead of 26.93 percent, or 1,239 votes. Scherer had 19.34 percent, with 890 votes, followed closely by Markey with 18.76 percent, or 863 votes. Out of the running were Ucovich, with 837 votes, or 18.19 percent, and Arisman with 717 votes at 15.58 percent. “I am so happy that the voters have chosen to elect someone who is a fresh face and wants to keep Loomis rural. That was my platform and obviously the voters agree with my goal of keeping our town small,” Calvert said Tuesday night. Calvert, also chairman of the No on Measure A Committee, said her election proved Measure A proponents wrong. “My reaction (to Measure A) is that I am proof that I defeat the proponents’ argument that you must have term limits in order to be elected to the Loomis Town Council.” Tom Millward, the treasurer for the Committee for Measure A, said Tuesday night he was very glad Measure A was passing. “A lot of people did a lot of hard work,” Millward said. “We fought an uphill battle with the council.” Scherer is serving his fifth term on the council, although he took a 4-year break in the 1990s. Since Measure A also provides that “a member who has served two terms prior to Aug. 1, 2010 must sit out eight years,” whether Ucovich will be allowed to serve his sixth term is now up in the air. Ann Baker appeared to be successful in her bid to unseat incumbent Tim Rudolph. Baker was on her way to a resounding victory with 4,060 votes, compared to Rudolph’s 2,113 votes. William Tudsbury and Chris Gibson, incumbent directors on the Loomis Fire Protection District board, were winning re-election with 1,627 and 1,155 votes, respectively. Challenger Russ Kelley had 1,088 votes in his bid for one of the three open seats. Incumbents were also winning in the Penryn Fire Protection District race. Headed for re-election were board members Brian Myers, who had 578 votes; Thomas Bowling, 508; and Mike Posehn, 445. Phil Barger’s 254 votes and Mike Cagle’s 283 votes were not enough to win them one of the three open seats.