Loomis engine sent to SoCal fires

New member joins Lomis Fire Protection District board
By: Martha Garcia, Loomis News Editor
-A +A
A crew from the Loomis Fire Protection District has joined firefighting efforts in Southern California. Loomis Fire Chief Dave Wheeler said this week that the state Office of Emergency Services requested a strike team be sent to aid in the Freeway Complex fire burning in Riverside, San Bernardino, Orange and Los Angeles counties. Engine No. 28, crewmembers Capt. Devin Fuller, engineers Josh Green and Daniel Justus, and firefighter Mike Allison left Loomis late Friday, Nov. 14. “They are there primarily for structure protection,” Wheeler said. “When we send them out it’s a 14 day commitment, but I expect them back well before that.” Firefighters are facing extreme conditions of very hot and dry weather. As of Monday morning, wildfires – fueled by Santa Ana winds – had burned more than 23,000 acres and engulfed 120 homes in the four-county area. Wheeler also announced that the Loomis Fire District board of directors has a new member, Chris Gibson, appointed at a special meeting held Oct. 30 to fill the seat vacated by Greg Fellers. Fellers, the board president, resigned Aug. 31 when he moved to Southern California. Gibson, 45, is a chiropractor with a practice in Sacramento. He’s also a former fireman, having worked with the South Placer Fire Protection District for nine years. Gibson has been a Loomis resident since he was a teenager, and is a 1982 graduate of Del Oro High School. He is pleased to have been chosen to serve on the board. “I’ve always kept in contact with firefighters in Loomis and South Placer and have helped support Loomis in all their causes. I’m happy to be able to give back to the Loomis Fire District,” Gibson said. Wheeler feels Gibson’s background as a fireman is an advantage. “It means he understands the language and the needs of the fire district,” he said. Barbara Leak, secretary for the fire district, said there were two other applicants for the position on the board of directors: Michael Langford and Jon Bergstrom. Bergstrom ran unsuccessfully for the two open seats on the board in the Nov. 4 election. The other fire board members are president John Shearer, vice president Dennis Gage and directors Bill Tudsbury and Bryan Thomson. Shearer and Thomson were re-elected in the recent election. Regular board of directors meetings are held at 5:30 p.m. on the second Wednesday of each month at the firehouse located at 5840 Horseshoe Bar Road, at the corner of Magnolia Street. Call the administration office at 652-6813 for more information.