Looking Back

Week of Sept. 22, 2011
By: Howard Stitt
-A +A
50 Years Ago September 22, 1961 The Central Gas Co. of Loomis provided the booth for the Placer County Tuberculosis and Health Assoc. A map of TB cases in the county was displayed in the booth. Allton Chevrolet of Loomis (formerly Mehl's Chevrolet) was selling its first diesel trucks. The new manager of the Nash-DeCamp fruit packing operation was Edward Yamane. He was born and raised in Loomis and operated a plum orchard. Edward succeeded Bill Francis, who became the business manager for the Placer High School District. Lucy Yego, Del Oro Girls VP, led the first pep rally of the year. Jackie Yokote was elected the Women's representative for the Freshman Class at Sierra College. Her first task was to help plan the big "Howdy Day" festivities. Frank Nute and Percy Lanouette directed a Hunter Safety Course for boys and girls at Loomis School. The Sierra Assembly of God Church was located in the old Japanese School Building on Brace Rd. in Loomis. Loomis folk scored well at the Auburn Fair including Michelle Moore, Richard Furnoy, and Linda Wood in the arts and crafts division. Barbara Crossley, Kathleen Wycoff, and Butch Hooper were 4-H winners. To report a traffic emergency, call Zenith 1-2000. 25 Years Ago September25, 1986 Services were held for Noble Nobukazu Terada, a native of Loomis. Anne Rippey was named the Outstanding Citizen by the Loomis Basin Chamber of Commerce. She was born in Roseville and moved to Loomis in 1933 when she married Edmund Rippey. Anne had been active in PTA, Eastern Star, and was the first Rainbow Mother Advisor when the Penryn Chapter began. She organized bus trips to Reno for years and along with Sue Hansen raised about $20,000 for local charities with funds raised by those trips. Anne worked at Main Drug for the past 21 years. Dean Stahr's parrot, "Arnold," was the new watchbird at Stahr Liquors. Molly Itow, Amy Tokutomi, and Meri Nitta of the Fujin Kai were in charge of the food committees for the 22nd Annual Placer Buddhist Church Food Bazaar. Preparing some 9400 barbecued chicken halves was head chef Kiyoto Hamasaki. Shizuo Yoshikawa was in charge of the table set-up crew for the "Bamboo Inn." Starting the season with two wins, the Hershey Kids Under 10 soccer team received goals from Kim Anderson, Connie McDowell, Patty Murphy, and Mandy Frybarger. Getting assists were Sabrina Rickey, Denise Waller, Courtney Martorana, Amanda Boswell, Sara Shriver, and Renee Mabie. Providing a solid defense were Casey Barnes, Nicole Sawhill, Kristin Hineline, and Cammie Elkins. The Del Oro football team benefited from the return of injured players Brent Collins, John Breckenridge, and Roger Rasmussen as the team beat Kennedy 18-6. Sean Albright made a sensational leaping catch for one TD. Also scoring were Mitch Seamans, and Brian Williams. 10 Years Ago September 27, 2001 Jane Williams, the late founder of the Indian Creek Country Club, was remembered at a memorial dedication ceremony. A memorial bench, designed by Loomis artist Tommie Moller with the help of Gerda Francesca, was dedicated in Jane's honor. The plaque on the bench includes, "Sit and behold the legacy of her dreams." Loomis Fire Chief Jim Struble announced his retirement. A Loomis resident his entire life, Jim spent 25 years responding to alarms. He said, "Helping people has always brought me the greatest personal satisfaction." He and his wife Jan own and operate the Struble Ranch along Dick Cook Road, where they grow and sell mandarin oranges. Placer School 1st grader Mitchell Pingree showed his artwork to the state superintendent of public instruction as she visited the classroom of Mrs. Janel Catalano. Loomis Youth Soccer players helping their team win included Robert Day, Bobby Gallagher, Jacob Kalisiak, Matthew Winger, Trevor Ostendorf, and Jacob Gruber. Linebackers Eric Yocum and Gabe Chandler shaved their heads as a show of unity for the Del Oro football team. It caught on and over half of the team was bald. It seemed to work as the Golden Eagles topped Ponderosa 40-15 behind the running game of B.J. Mitchell, David Yang, Paul Neveadomi, Garrett Cooper and Michael Gildone.