Looking Back

From the files of the Loomis News
By: Compiled Howard Mehl and Howard Stitt
-A +A
50 YEARS AGO (Jan. 1, 1960 Issue) Strict enforcement of the 65-mile an hour speed law, which went into effect Jan. 1, was promised by Bradford M. Crittenden, Commissioner of the California Highway Patrol. The Loomis Firemen moved their fire trucks into their new fire house, which was recently built by Bert Norberg. The new building is a cement block structure, 30 by 60 feet in size, and will hold three fire trucks. It is equipped with a room where the firemen can meet. It is located on Olive St., next to Frank Takagishi’s Shoe Store. 25 YEARS AGO (Jan. 3, 1985 Issue) After 29 years with the Loomis Fruit Growers Association, Aki Hirota was honored at a retirement party. He was presented with a plaque and a trip to Hawaii by Randy Hansen, association manager, and Bob Hansen, chairman of the board. In addition to his duties with the association, Hirota had been in charge of the local weather reporting station for 25 years. 10 YEARS AGO (Dec. 30, 1999 Issue) Loomis native Jack Yokote passed away just days short of his 85th birthday. He was an active member of Boy Scouts for 70 years. He earned the rank of Eagle Scout and became an Assistant Scoutmaster while attending Placer High School. Jack even remained active as a Scout leader while in an internment camp during World War II. After returning to the area, he became Scoutmaster for Troop 9 of Penryn and built the troop from 5 to 30 Scouts. At the same time he answered the call to help Troop 12 of Loomis as Scoutmaster. Jack received the Silver Beaver and Silver Antelope awards. He was also active with the Loomis Lions Club, Masons, JACL, and the United Methodist Church of Loomis. He was an active member with Paul’s Place Association that was co-founded by his late brother, Paul Yokote. Loomis School teachers Susan Sainsbury, Nancy Pera and Susan Rea prepared their fourth-graders for an overnight field trip to Sutter’s Fort. Kindergarten “Falcons of the Week” at Loomis School were Kylie Elwell, Maxwell Brown, Evan Dougherty, Brittany Luckett and Maryann Good. The Del Oro JV football team under coach Steve Birch completed an undefeated season, 10-0. The team set a record for most points scored (332) and fewest points allowed (26). Being recognized at an awards dinner were Kevin Geist, Jack Duncan, Greg Snodgrass, Jonathan Polly, Jeremy Isbell, Chad Mowry, Jacob Johnson, Jacob Perez, Matt Bonner, Dane Warner, Eric Yocum, David Yang, Chris Saras and Paul Neveadomi.