It's official: PVL remains the same through 2018

SFL to welcome Folsom, Oak Ridge
By: Mike Ray, Gold Country News Service
-A +A


For the Pioneer Valley League, it’s status quo. For the Sierra Foothill League, there’s change coming.

At the Sac-Joaquin Section’s Board of Mangers meeting Wednesday in Stockton, the final realignment proposal was approved by member schools in a vote of 139-11, with 27 schools abstaining.

That means that the PVL – consisting of  Bear River, Center, Colfax, Foothill, Lincoln and Placer – will remain the same for athletics for the school years starting in the fall of 2014 through May 2018.

While the PVL remains the same, the Sierra Foothill League, will have a new look.

Now a Division I league, the SFL will consist of  Del Oro, Folsom, Granite Bay, Nevada Union, Oak Ridge, Rocklin and Woodcreek. Longtime SFL staple Roseville will move to the Division II Capital Valley Conference.

While the PVL will have no change,  the status quo look didn’t come without some dissent.

Colfax officials, citing declining enrollment and losing students to other schools in the Placer Union High District through “open enrollment,” offered a letter to CIF officials where they accept the CIF’s decision but they are not pleased with playing in a league with Placer. Colfax, however, did not appeal the CIF’s decision, although Falcons officials abstained in the voting.

In one change through the realignment, the PVL moves down from a Division III league to Division IV.

The biggest issue of the meeting and of the latest realignment became Central Catholic of Modesto appealing a decision to be placed in the Valley Oak League. In its 15-minute appeal, Central Catholic cited several competition factors, especially in girls sports that would hinder the school in the VOL.

However, in a vote where each league gets two, the Central Catholic appeal was denied by a 45-6 margin.

In another meeting item, the CIF offered a first reading to do away with its basketball “power ratings” and proceed to a playoff format where the top three teams from leagues, and top four from “power leagues,” will qualify for the playoffs. This item will be voted on in October.