Holmes returns to Victory Lane in Roseville

Pursley clinches first Pro Series West title by taking green flag
By: Staff reports
-A +A

Eric Holmes earned another checkered flag in Roseville. Greg Pursley earned his first NASCAR K&N Pro Series West season championship.

Holmes led 50 laps, including the last 13, and captured the Toyota/NAPA Auto Parts 150 on Saturday night for his fourth victory at All American Speedway.

The three-time series champion also moved past Bill McAnally Racing teammate Moses Smith into second place in points. Holmes, of Escalon, won’t catch Pursley, who clinched the championship by taking the green flag.

Pursley, of Newhall, was involved in an early crash but came back to place second in the race, .403 of a second behind Holmes. Pursley won six of the first eight races this season.

Holmes was the top qualifier until Manteca teenager Jacob Gomes, the final car on the one-third-mile track, put down a lap at 13.663 seconds to slide Holmes (13.703) to the outside position in row one.

Holmes now has won back-to-back races — and 16 in his Pro Series West career — as the series heads into its season finale Nov. 12 in Phoenix.

“We lost the brakes, had a little brake issue. But we got it dialed in and saved the car for the end,” Holmes said. “The NAPA Toyota is in Victory Lane two races in a row. I’ve got to thank everybody on the team.”

Greg Rayl of Roseville finished 13th.

Seven teenagers qualified for the 24-car field, and four finished in the top 10: Cameron Hayley, 15, of Canada in third; Gomes, 18, in sixth; series Rookie of the Year Dylan Kwasniewski, 16, of Las Vegas in ninth; and two-time Roseville Late Model champ Matt Scott, 19, in 10th in his Pro Series West debut.

Holmes threatened to win the SRL Spears Southwest Tour Series race earlier in the evening, but Bobby Hodges stormed from ninth place 13 laps from the end to take the checkered flag in the Thunder Valley Casino Resort 135.

Ross Strmiska led the first 83 laps. Holmes took the lead on lap 126, but Gomes took the lead from him on lap 133. Holmes ended up 12th. Hodges passed runner-up M.K. Kanke and Gomes on final lap. Jim Pettit II finished third.

Derek Thorn was the top qualifier at 13.252 seconds.

In Legends of the Pacific, Robby Czub topped a 23-car field in qualifying at 15.253 seconds. Jeremy Doss started third, took the lead on the fourth lap and won the 23-lap event by .205 of a second over Jeremy Wood. Czub was third.

Late Model and Modified races were held Friday night.

Junior Roddy of Gualala “threw the moon” at his car, took the lead on the first lap and led all 100 laps to claim the checkered flag in the Late Model main event.

Roddy won every restart following eight caution flags and one red flag, and he kept his distance from All American regular Juan Pitta to win a race that paid a base of $2,000 to the winner. Several contingencies were sure to make the payout more.

“With 93 laps down, I said, ‘Boys, if I lose this, it’s all because of me. It isn’t because of you guys,’ ” he said of his crew. “I’m just thrilled we did it.”

Pitta finished second, .903 of a second behind Roddy. Billy Butler was third.

Scott Winters, a past track champion at All American, took the lead from Jay Linstroth on lap 18 in the Modified feature and won the 25-lap race. It was scheduled for 50 laps but had a 25-minute time limit. Seven yellow flags cut the laps in half.


Saturday at All American Speedway, Roseville

Toyota/NAPA Auto Parts 150:
1. (2) Eric Holmes, Escalon, Toyota, 152 laps, 53.911 mph. 2. (7) Greg Pursley, Newhall, Ford, 152. 3. (5) Cameron Hayley, Calgary, Alberta, Toyota, 152. 4. (4) Luis Martinez Jr., Long Beach, Ford, 152. 5. (10) Chad Boat, Phoenix, Ariz., Chevrolet, 152. 6. (1) Jacob Gomes, Manteca, Chevrolet, 152. 7. (12) Ryan Philpott, Tracy, Ford, 152. 8. (19) Daryl Harr, Edmonton, Alberta, Chevrolet, 152. 9. (6) Dylan Kwasniewski, Las Vegas, Nev., Ford, 152. 10. (14) Matt Scott, Pine Grove, Chevrolet, 152. 11. (3) Derek Thorn, Lakeport, Ford, 152. 12. (16) Brett Thompson, Jerome, Idaho, Chevrolet, 152. 13. (23) Greg Rayl, Roseville, Ford, 152. 14. (17) Travis Milburn, Eagle, Idaho, Toyota, 152. 15. (22) Justin Funkhouser, Paradise, Ford, 152. 16. (20) Jason Fensler, Wilton, Chevrolet, 152. 17. (11) Moses Smith, Tempe, Ariz., Toyota, 152. 18. (8) Dylan Lupton, Wilton, Toyota, 151. 19. (9) Dylan Hutchison, Sacramento, Chevrolet, 151. 20. (13) Michael Self, Park City, Utah, Chevrolet, 150. 21. (18) Carl Harr, Edmonton, Alberta, Chevrolet, 149. 22. (15) Jessica Brunelli, Hayward, Chevrolet, 146. 23. (21) John Wood, Eagle, Idaho, Toyota, 135. 24. (24) Jack Sellers, Sacramento, Chevrolet, 100.

Time of race: 56 minutes, 20 seconds. Margin of victory: .403 of a second. Fast qualifier: Gomes, 87.741 mph, 13.663 seconds. Caution flags: 8 for 47 laps. Lead changes: 6 among 5 drivers. Lap leaders: Gomes 1-30, Holmes 31-67, Kwasniewski 68-119, Thorn 120-123, Kwasniewski 124-125, Hayley 126-139, Holmes 140-152.
Points standings: 1. Pursley, 2,220; 2. Holmes, 1,902; 3. Smith, 1,868; 4. Martinez Jr., 1,854; 5. Kwasniewski, 1,792; 6. Thompson, 1,763; 7. Self, 1,740; 8. D. Harr, 1,591; 9. Philpott, 1,545; 10. C. Harr, 1,429.


Thunder Valley Casino Resort 135: 1. Bobby Hodges (Carson City, Nev.), 2. M.K. Kanke (Frazier Park), 3. Jim Pettit II (Prunedale), 4. Ken Benhamou (San Ramon), 5. Keith Spangler (Chatsworth), 6. Dave Byrd (French Camp), 7. Trevor Cristiani (Ukiah), 8. Ross Strmiska (Manteca), 9. Scott Sanchez (Livermore), 10. Jacob Gomes (Manteca), 11. Michael Sandoval (Ripon), 12. Eric Holmes (Escalon), 13. Michelle Nagai (Loomis), 14. Derek Thorn (Bakersfield), 15. Brennan Newberry (Bakersfield), 16. Carlos Vieira (Livingston), 17. Justin Westmoreland (Madera), 18. Jon Wood (Eagle, Idaho), 19. Jeff Oleen (Bethesda, Md.).


Main event (23 laps): 1. Jeremy Doss (Lower Lake), 2. Jeremy Wood (Tracy), 3. Robby Czub (Rocklin), 4. Darren Amidon (Santee), 5. Luis Tyrrell (Brisbane), 6. Cody Berger (Tracy), 7. Tony Mangini (Benicia), 8. Cale Kanke (Frazier Park), 9. James Bickford (Napa), 10. Hunter Anderson (Stockton), 11. Danny Allen (Lincoln), 12. Jessica Walker (San Ramon), 13. Brian Mallin (Napa), 14. Doug Braddock Jr. (Napa), 15. Austin Reed (Coto de Caza), 16. Jimmy Sturges (Ukiah), 17. Steve Cronk, 18. Randy Kackley, 19. Dan Munier (Foster City), 20. William Camara, 21. Bob Kuebler (Reno), 22. Jim Eby, 23. Ryan Cansdale (Laguna Beach).

Friday’s results

Late Model main event (100 laps): 1. Junior Roddy, 2. Juan Pitta, 3. Billy Butler, 4. Jamie Krizysik, 5. Chris Scribner, 6. Jason Gilbert, 7. Glen Cook, 8. Kyle McGrady, 9. Travis Milburn, 10. Mindy McCord, 11. Shannon Mansch, 12. Nick Romano, 13. Quintin Crye, 14. Cameron Hayley, 15. Laura Hayes, 16. Dylan Lupton, 17. Troy Nogosek, 18. Dave Byrd, 19. Jeremy Doss, 20. Colin Bailey, 21. Matt Scott, 22. Chuck Glick, 23. Kenny Bartram, 24. Justin Philpott, 25. Dylan Hutchison, 26. Brandon Trevethan.

Modified (25 laps): 1. Scott Winters, 2. Jay Linstroth, 3. Joey Licata Jr., 4. Jason Bamberg, 5. Jason Philpot, 6. Gary Glenn, 7. Keegan Walmer, 8. Rich Lindgren, 9. Scott Woessner, 10. Bobby Runyan Jr., 11. Gary Lowblad, 12. Sal Lopez, 13. Justin Wolff, 14. Steve Cote, 15. Billy Bowerman, 16. Andy Field, 17. Cody Thompson, 18. Jim Badaker, 19. Troy Nogosek.