Granite Bay wins Division II wrestling banner

Local schools claim six individual titles, qualify 27 for Masters Meet
By: Bill Poindexter/Roseville Press Tribune Sports Editor
-A +A

Granite Bay earned a Sac-Joaquin Section championship for wrestling after all, and Roseville high schools came away from the Division II tournament Saturday with 27 qualifiers for the Masters Meet.

The Grizzlies won two weight classes at Hiram Johnson High School in Sacramento, had four wrestlers in the finals and qualified 12 for the Masters Meet on Friday and Saturday at Stockton Arena.

Granite Bay won the Division II individual title with 231.5 points. Bella Vista, which defeated Granite Bay in the final of the Division II section team duals, was second with 203. Del Oro was third with 167, Woodcreek fourth with 161.5 and Roseville seventh with 127.5.

“That was incredible,” Grizzlies coach Shane Dixon said. “We came in pretty healthy in this one. At the end, I didn’t even realize there was going to be a banner. It was pretty exciting.”

Woodcreek crowned three individual champions – 103-pound freshman James Gomez, 119-pounder Quinn Walker and 135-pound sophomore Peter Santos – and Joshua Banegas was the runner-up at 112. Walker wasn’t scored upon in the tournament. Woodcreek will send seven wrestlers to Masters.

“Our champions and runner-up have placed themselves in good positions to place and qualify for the state meet,” Timberwolves coach Doug Mason said. “We are happy with our kids’ performances. We did very well in some areas.”

Oakmont junior Jake Elliott improved to 29-1 this season by winning the 145-pound division. Elliott is ranked second in the state by Elliott defeated Blake Matis of Casa Roble 9-2 in the final.

“He wrestled smart. He wrestled well,” Vikings coach Dave Wells said of Elliott.
Roseville qualified six for Masters, including runners-up Dylan Jankovich at 130 and Austin Finerty at 171. Jankovich lost to Shayne Tucker of Bella Vista in the final. Jankovich is ranked seventh in the state, Tucker eighth.

“All in all, it was a fantastic outcome for us,” Tigers coach Jeremiah Miller said, noting surprise performances by Finerty and freshman Jon Maroon, who finished fourth at 112. “All the boys wrestled some of their best matches of the year.”

Heavyweight Gavin Andrews, ranked fifth in the state, and 189-pounder William Anderson won championships for Granite Bay, and Phil Vogeley lost in the 135-pound final to Santos. Granite Bay sophomore Kevin Blank reached the final at 215.

Dixon described Anderson’s final against Valley’s Martay Greer as “the most incredible thing ever.”

“That guy’s a specimen,” Dixon said of Greer. “We knew he was an athlete.”

Anderson’s plan was to keep pushing and pressuring Greer, who scored a quick takedown and took a 4-0 lead with a reversal early in the second period. Anderson “kept standing up,” according to Dixon, forcing Greer to take him down again.

Anderson stayed active and on the move, forcing Greer to work. Dixon saw Greer beginning to tire and grow frustrated.

Anderson stood again, and Greer slammed him on his head. Anderson earned a penalty point, and Greer later received a warning for stalling. Greer locked hands on Anderson to bring on another penalty point and then was hit with a third penalty, worth two points, to tie the score at 4 heading into overtime.

“Of course, the whole time we’re tiring him out,” Dixon said.

Greer shot on Anderson in overtime, and Anderson caught Greer with a chin whip.

“He’s so strong, he picked up Will anyway,” Dixon said.

But Greer lost his balance. Anderson held the chin whip and pinned him.

Said Dixon, “Will showed what desire, hard work can do.”

Qualifiers from Roseville high schools for the Sac-Joaquin Section Masters Meet on Friday and Saturday at the Stockton Arena:
Granite Bay: Chris Gallegos (103), Shane Saylor (112), Sean Brown (119), Andrew Broadland (125), Ian Mook (130), Phil Vogeley (135), Johnny Cooley (145), Adam Wagner (152), Adam Godbey (160), William Anderson (189), Kevin Blank (215), Gavin Andrews (285).
Oakmont: Jake Elliott (145), Zach Sidhu (215).
Roseville: Jon Maroon (112), Matt Conley (125), Dylan Jankovich (130), Logan Palmer (152), Austin Finerty (171), Ryan Fratto (189).
Woodcreek: James Gomez (103), Joshua Banegas (112), Quinn Walker (119), Austin Mason (130), Peter Santos (135), Angelo Ciaraglia (140), Josh Kyser (160).