Eagles picked to June 27 Optimist grid game

-A +A
There will definitely be a dash of Del Oro Black and Gold in next Saturday’s 53rd renewal of the Sacramento Optimist All-Star Football Game. The annual benefit football clash, which pits the top graduated seniors from Sacramento-area high schools, will be played June 27 at American River College, 4700 College Oak Drive. And Del Oro’s Golden Eagles will be well represented on the North roster and coaching staff. Graduated Del Oro players who were selected for the team include receiver Barry Nobles and linebacker Joe Brunet. The Del Oro pair will play for a North All-Star team that is being coached by Mike Alberghini of Grant. Del Oro’s Casey Taylor will coach the North offense. Assistant coaches from Del Oro, also with the North staff, include Doug Warner, Jeff Dietrich and Zach Strutz. The South All-Star team is being coached by Andre Johansen of Christian Brothers. Johansen is being assisted by John Heffernan and assistants from the Burbank staff. The North Optimist All-Star roster includes players from a multitude of area schools. Quarterbacks are Colfax’s Spencer Lewis and Mardell Johnson of Rio Americano. Running backs are Clark Partridge of Granite Bay and Matt Satchwell of Casa Roble. Receivers are Barry Nobles of Del Oro, Jeff Divine of Colfax, Zack Davis of Roseville, Jake Snyder of Whitney, and LaDon Hudson of Inderkum. Offensive line includes Steve Marley of Del Campo, Eddie Thomas of Granite Bay, Casey Griffiths of Woodcreek, Ramon Williams of Grant, Aaron Baryak of Bella Vista and Jimmy Flint of Casa Roble. Defensive line includes Colton Paulhus of Granite Bay, Seth Young of Woodland, Josh Fields of Rio Linda, Darius Woods of Woodcreek, Edward Rob-inson of Grant, Scott Schweiger of Oakmont and Alesana Laban of Grant. Linebackers include Ben Holland of Rocklin, Chad Quirarte of Bear River, Jeremiah Toma of Grant, Joe Brunet of Del Oro, Criste Christian of Roseville, Tony Matavale of Grant, Michael Exford of Foothill and C.J. Castro of Del Campo. Defensive backs include Howard Warren of Grant, Steven Hurley of Rocklin, Dominic Amey of Rio Americano, Marvin Lamb of Grant, Manasa Kikau of Rio Americano and Jaymee Cowling of Grant.