DO’s Taylor honored as CCA Coach of the Year

-A +A
The California Coaches Association, a statewide or-ganization of high school coaches that was established in 1957, has named its winners of the 2008 California High School Coaches of the Year. Casey Taylor, head football coach at Del Oro High School, has been selected as the 2008 recipient of the CCA Football Coach of the Year Award. Taylor, who earlier this year was named as one of the winners of the Sacramento Valley National Football Hall of Fame Foundation’s Distinguished Coach Award, will be honored at the CCA’s Coach of the Year/Hall of Fame banquet which is slated for Saturday, June 14, at the Doubletree Hotel in Sacramento. All of the state’s coaches of the year will be honored at this time. Included with Taylor are six other coaches from the Sac-Joaquin Section, including Bruce Honberger, Granite Bay, volleyball; Bill Baxter, El Camino, basketball; John Lamb, Colfax, golf; Rick Foley, Placer, track; and Spencer Elliott, Davis, track.