Del Oro's Clay Shropshire most outstanding lightweight wrestler at Battle for the Border

By: Journal sports staff
-A +A

Del Oro wrestling results by weight class


106 Isaac Blackburn champion
113 Clay Shropshire champion and most outstanding lightweight
120 Jansen Engelbrecht champion
126 Zach Ruybal champion
132 Tanner Robison champion
138 Dustin Edwards 4th
145 Johnny Zieour champion
152 Andrew Keefe 4th
160 Patrick Neu 2nd
170 Dylan Kainrath champion
195 Russell pierce 3rd
220 Jon Francom-Clark 3rd
285 Saul Meneses 2nd


The Del Oro boys wrestling won the 18-team Battle for the Border at Lassen High in Susanville Saturday.

Seven of the varsity Golden Eagles were individuals champions, including Clay Shropshire who was named the most outstanding lightweight wrestler at 113 pounds.

Other champions included Isaac Blackburn (106 pounds), Jansen Engelbrecht (120), Zach Ruybal (126), Tanner Robison (132), Johnny Zieour (145) and Dylan Kainrath (170).

“The guys wrestled great,” coach Dave Sanchez said.

Del Oro returns to the mat Wednesday when it hosts Roseville for senior night in Loomis. Junior varsity matches start at 6 p.m. with varsity following  the JVs.